Monday, June 29, 2015

They didn't want to be heroes, but they may not have a choice: Walking Shadows

This world gets weirder every year. We all try to navigate our way through the endless changes around us. But in a world where every job is hard to find, it is young adults that struggle the most with the realities of basic survival when they lose a parental safety net. It is that concept that serves as the basis for Walking Shadows, my tale of a group of young metahumans stuck in a world they didn’t make, don’t want and may never be able to escape.

The book takes its name from Scene 5 of Act 5 of William Shakespeare’s MacBeth.
Life's but a walking shadow, a poor player
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage
And then is heard no more. It is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury
Signifying nothing.

It is not a pleasant view of life, but it is a line that stuck with me from the day I read MacBeth in high school to now. We really are walking shadows on the earth and that gave inspiration to the six characters that kick off Walking Shadows Book One. The cast will continue to grow and shrink as the series continues and its varied cast faces the trials and tribulations brought force by their mysterious pursuers, insane monsters and ancient beings. In the process, they may become something none of them really want: heroes.

Or they may face their own death. “And then is heard no more.”

Walking Shadows can be currently found updating three times a week on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. Book Two races to a close on the site now, but every word of both books are up for reader’s convenience. Or if you prefer ebook format, Amazon has Walking Shadows Book One for 99 cents and Walking Shadows Book Two for $2.99.

No comments:

Post a Comment